Travel is coming back with a boom in 2021. Before visiting a new destination this year, it’s fun to familiarize yourself with the country’s flag. Today we’re going to teach you about the flags of some of the most popular travel destinations for 2021 to get you ready for your worldwide adventures this year.

Canada Flag


The National Flag of Canada is easy to spot with its 11-point maple leaf in the center of the flag. The current design has been used since 15th February 1965, and this date is celebrated each year on the National Flag of Canada Day. Before this time, there was much debate about the previous flag, the Union Flag, and so a new design was adopted, which is based on the Royal Military College of Canada’s flag. The Royal Union Flag is still an official flag in the country and is used to show their allegiance to the Commonwealth of Nations and the monarch.

Mexico Flag


Mexico’s flag features a red, green, and white design, which is embellished with the national coat of arms in the middle of its white section. The country’s first national flag was created in 1821, and it still uses a similar style today. The three colors were first used following the country’s independence from Spain, but the current coat of arms was adjusted again in 1968. Red, green and white are the national army of Mexico’s colors. The coat of arms in the center shows an eagle on a cactus, which is inspired by the Aztec symbol for the city of Tenochtitlan, which is now better known as Mexico City. Traveling to Mexico?

India Flag


If you are heading to India for an adventure this year, you’ll see the country’s tricolor flag featuring a dark saffron color at the top, white in the center, and then dark green at the base. There’s a symbol in the middle of the Indian flag which signifies the chakra, and it uses the 24 spoke design that appears on the abacus of the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. The current National Flag of India has been in service since 1947 when India was still known as the Dominion of India. Once the country became the Republic of India in 1950, it retained the current flag.

New Zealand Flag

New Zealand

The New Zealand flag has received much attention in recent years, as the population voted on their flag in 2016. The current flag remained in place after this vote, with 57% of voters choosing the current design. Their flag symbolizes the people of New Zealand, the government, and the realm. It has a royal blue background, which comes from the Blue Squadron of the Royal Navy’s ensign. New Zealand’s flag has four stars, which symbolizes the Southern Cross and the location of the country in the South Pacific Ocean. Finally, the Union Jack is seen in the corner, celebrating the country’s origins. This flag was officially adopted in 1902, although it has been used throughout the country since 1869.

Sri Lanka Flag

Sri Lanka

The flag of Sri Lanka has been in use since 1948 and is also referred to as the Lion Flag and the Sinha Flag. In the main section of the flag, you’ll see a gold lion that holds a sword in its paw. The lion and the maroon background that it sits on represent the Sinhalese, an Indo-Aryan ethnic group in the country, which make up about 75% of the population. The border, which is a saffron color, and the four bo leaves symbolize Buddhism and various concepts of this religion. Finally, the stripes signify the Sri Lankan Tamils and also the Indian Tamils of Sri Lanka, which are the two largest minority groups within the country.

Cambodia Flag


The current flag of Cambodia was originally used in 1948 and then has been the national flag again since 1993 once the Cambodian monarchy was restored. The flag features Angkor Wat in its center, which is one of the most famous places in the country for visitors to see. As one of the world’s most famous temples, it’s known for its five towers, but its appearance varies slightly on various flag depictions.

Australia Flag


Often confused with the flag of New Zealand, the Australian flag has some similarities in its design. The Australian flag is based on the Blue Ensign of the British maritime and features the Union Jack in its corner. There is a large seven-pointed star, which represents the Commonwealth Star, and then the Southern Cross made from five smaller white stars. This flag design was selected back in 1901, but the current version was created seven years later, in 1908.

Egypt Flag


If you are heading to Egypt this year, you’ll see the red, white, and black flag of this country. The flag was first used at the time of the 1952 Egyptian Revolution. In the center of the flag, you’ll notice a symbol, which is the Egyptian eagle of Saladin, representing power and strength. Red symbolizes the sacrifice and blood of martyrs, black is related to the period of occupation in the country, and then white shows peace.

Turkey Flag


The Turkish flag is a red flag that has a white star and crescent in its center. It’s sometimes called al bayrak and is mentioned as al sancak in the country’s national anthem. The current flag was originally inspired by the Ottoman flag, which was first used in the late 18th century and adjusted in 1844. When visiting Turkey, you’ll see the flag displayed on military uniforms, helmets, navy uniforms, and flight suits.


Looking out for flags when traveling is a fun activity for adults and children alike. Now you know a little more about the history and background of each of these country’s flags, you’ll be able to impress your travel companions on your next trip. Flags share so much history of a destination, and you can learn a lot about the events and past of places you are visiting from these symbols. Wherever you travel this year, keep your eyes peeled for the various flags on display during your adventures.